Post 50-Empathy: giving assistance to a foreigner

Empathy has many different definitions. These definitions encompass a broad range, from caring for other people and having a desire to help them, to experiencing emotions that match another person’s emotions, to knowing what the other person is thinking or feeling, to blurring the line between self and other.

Just a few weeks ago I had some new neighbors move in next to me. I saw the moving truck several times over the course of the week and what I thought may be my potential new next-door neighbors. They were a younger couple with two young twin boys. I overheard them from my garage and could have sworn they were speaking in a different language. The husband quietly came over towards my garage and said “How are you doing, my name is Boris and my family and I just moved here from Belgium, Germany.” I was intrigued because my mom’s side of the family is originally from Germany and I just recently got a Volkswagen car, so this whole German thing was really happening for me. His English was scattered but definitely good enough for me to comprehend. We talked for a good while about the Richmond area and just random life things. They were anxious to become American citizen’s, everything from the food to household products thoroughly intrigued them. He mentioned that he needed all new cleaning supplies and other necessary household items, so I told him I would show him what the local Sam’s Club superstore had to offer. We went to Sam’s Club and at first I showed him different American food’s such as: pizza, hotdogs, hamburgers, etc. As we got near the detergent isle, I naturally started looking around for some Tide. I showed him Tide because thats what we use here in good ole America. I really just wanted to help out and be a good citizen and show them what America is really like compared to their homeland. This all ties in well with Tide because the brand focuses on family and this particular scenario I presented shows family values and meaningful improvements to ones life.
IMG_0683 typical American food….and my favorite IMG_0769  Nuggets…pretty AmericanIMG_0936 The new neighbor….Boris, oddly enough wearing my first creation for the Tide Project 54… the “Roll Tide Roll” hat.

Leave a Reply

